Part 1- A Finnish Christmas Dream Come True


I can’t stand it another minute! I cannot bear to wait to share the perfection of these moments with anyone and everyone. I am in the midst of the picture perfect Finnish Christmas that one could only dream of experiencing. With my own Finnish family roots, I feel as if I am capturing a slice of culture to pass on as I take in every precious moment.

A Finnish Christmas 2009

The beautiful view from the kitchen table

After a 5 hour train ride to the North East of Finland, we are staying in the family home where my dear friend’s Grandfather was born. It was once a very large estate, but now it is smaller, only about 42 hectares (1 hectare is about 2.471 acres).

I am surrounded by snowy, tree filled landscape, ancient outbuildings and the most endearing brick oven which we are going to bake our traditional Finnish Rye Bread today.

This bread is from a sourdough starter that has been kept alive in the family for three generations! We are following the very calculated three -day process to

Traditional Oven

Traditional Finnish stove and oven

 bake it.

With all of this and more, I am so overwhelmed by this perfect and blessed moment in my life that I cannot possibly recall everything. I am too busy enjoying it, which is what I should be doing.

Anyone who knows my history of bread baking knows this is absolute ecstasy for me to be a part of this experience! I will be posting the entire bread baking process with the recipe once we are finished, but until then, I just pray that we will be able to pull it off! Just for a taste of what we have taken on, here is a picture of the 5 gallon bucket we are using to mix the dough for 8 loaves:

finnish sourdough starter

The Ancient Family Sourdough Starter in the 5 gallon bucket

Just had to post a note and will continue to do so as the opportunity arises. Between sick babies, cooking, rearranging the house, preparing for Christmas, and baking this bread, I am in a place called Finnish Christmas Heaven! All I need is Santa Claus and my own loved ones to make this dream complete.

This is the only way to travel! How could you ever understand a culture otherwise than by living in the moments amidst the families that are a part of it?

The snow has started to fall quick thickly again and I have to get to work! Merry Christmas!!!!!

The view from my bedroom window

1 Comment

Filed under #Finland, #Helsinki, #Suomi, blogging, Bread+Baking, Christmas, Travel, Writing

One response to “Part 1- A Finnish Christmas Dream Come True

  1. Pingback: A True Cultural and Culinary Adventure « Granny Pants Speaks About Everything

Leave a Reply

